Skip to content
Banking, payments and open banking

Standard Chartered backs £2.45bn UK data centre financing

VIRTUS Data Centres has secured a £2.45bn syndicated financing package, with Standard Chartered among four lead banks, to support UK and European sites including a planned 78MW Buckinghamshire campus.

By

Published
Four identical unfinished concrete building shells stand in a row on a construction site, three wrapped in scaffolding netting and the fourth left bare with an empty doorway.

VIRTUS Data Centres said on 24 September 2026 that it had completed a £2.45bn financing package to support its UK and European data-centre business, with Standard Chartered Bank named as one of four banks that led a 13-strong lending consortium. VIRTUS and Standard Chartered both describe the transaction as one of the largest disclosed bank commitments yet to the country's data-centre sector, and the package matters to UK readers regardless of that ranking: it arrives at a time when the government has classed data centres as Critical National Infrastructure, and it illustrates the gap between financing pledged and capacity actually built. But the announcement describes committed funding and a development framework, not finished buildings. Saunderton, the 78MW Buckinghamshire campus at the centre of the story, remains under development. A bespoke environmental-permit application tied to the site was published by the Environment Agency in July 2026, but that notice was subsequently marked withdrawn, and the current permit position is unclear from the sources reviewed.

What was financed

VIRTUS says all £2.45bn is committed funding, arranged by a consortium of 13 banks. BNP Paribas, Crédit Agricole Corporate and Investment Bank, Société Générale and Standard Chartered Bank led the group as coordinators, senior mandated lead arrangers and bookrunners. Standard Chartered said it also acted as green loan coordinator. The identities of the other nine lenders were not disclosed in the material reviewed, and neither VIRTUS nor Standard Chartered stated how much of the £2.45bn Standard Chartered itself committed.

The headline figure describes committed funding rather than cash already spent. VIRTUS did not say how much of the package had been drawn down by the announcement date, or what conditions attach to future drawdowns.

How the package is structured

Of the £2.45bn, £1.2bn is identified as a green capital-expenditure facility, available through a combination of term and revolving tranches. That leaves roughly £1.25bn of the package whose purpose and structure were not described in the announcements reviewed. This remainder is an arithmetic calculation, not a separately named facility, and readers should not assume it is also green finance.

A wide range of commercial terms were absent from both companies' statements:

DisclosedNot disclosed
Total commitment: £2.45bnIndividual bank commitments, including Standard Chartered's share
Green capex facility: £1.2bn, term and revolving tranchesPricing, interest margin, benchmark rate
13 lenders, 4 named coordinatorsMaturity, amortisation schedule, covenants
Framework covers UK and European portfolioSecurity package, guarantees, hedging arrangements
Names Saunderton, LONDON19 and European expansion as usesAmount allocated to each named project
Green loan coordinator role namedGreen-loan eligibility criteria, key performance indicators, external review

Without a green-finance framework document, a second-party opinion or reporting obligations on file, it isn't possible to assess independently what qualifies as "green" spending under the £1.2bn facility, only that VIRTUS and its lenders have labelled it that way.

Where the money may go

VIRTUS said the financing provides a long-term framework to support Saunderton, future investment in LONDON19 in Slough, and expansion elsewhere in Europe. It did not publish a project-by-project breakdown of the £2.45bn, so there is no public basis for saying how much is earmarked for any single site. That gap matters because Saunderton, LONDON19 and continental European projects are at different stages of planning, permitting and construction, with correspondingly different capital needs and timelines.

Saunderton in practical terms

Saunderton is designed to deliver 78MW of IT load across four data centres on more than 50 acres in Buckinghamshire. VIRTUS describes the campus as suited to both standard-density and high-performance-computing deployments, with liquid cooling and racks capable of exceeding 100kW each — a maximum design figure, not an average across the site.

VIRTUS calls Saunderton "AI-ready". In this context that describes engineering choices made at design stage — high-density power distribution and liquid cooling loops suited to AI-optimised hardware — rather than evidence that AI servers have been installed, that customers have signed contracts, or that any AI workload is currently running there. The distinction matters because "AI-ready" is a claim about what a building can support, not about what it currently does.

Separately, an Environment Agency notice published on 28 July 2026 recorded a new bespoke environmental-permit application from Virtus Holdco Limited, covering combustion activity exceeding 50MW thermal at the Saunderton campus, with a deadline of 25 August 2026 for public representations. That notice was subsequently marked withdrawn. The published page does not explain why it was withdrawn, when, or whether a replacement application has since been filed, so the present permit position at Saunderton is unclear from the sources reviewed.

Finance is not finished capacity

The Office for National Statistics, in guidance on measuring the UK data-centre sector, distinguishes financing, pre-build work, construction, fit-out and operation as separate stages, and cautions explicitly that a proposal to build a data centre does not automatically translate into a completed facility. That framing applies directly here. A committed financing package, a stated 78MW design figure and a description as "AI-ready" are all real, but each sits at an earlier stage than energised, commissioned, revenue-generating capacity.

LONDON19 illustrates the same point on a smaller scale. VIRTUS said on 30 June 2026 that the 32.5MW Slough site had secured planning permission and that construction was expected to begin once design approval was finalised; it was not described as operational. The September 2026 financing release refers only to "future investment" in LONDON19, with no update on construction status.

What 13 banks reveal about appetite

The scale of the commitment and the number of participating banks are transaction-specific evidence that lenders were willing to back VIRTUS's existing platform and pipeline. VIRTUS is part of the Singapore-headquartered ST Telemedia Global Data Centres group, with Macquarie Asset Management holding a significant minority stake through Macquarie European Infrastructure Fund 7 — an established sponsor structure that likely shaped lender confidence, though the current announcement does not state Macquarie's percentage holding. Standard Chartered had already backed a smaller, separate €210m financing for VIRTUS's planned 57.6MW Marienpark campus in Berlin, announced on 5 February 2026, suggesting a continuing relationship rather than a one-off transaction.

That said, none of the disclosed terms reveal how the banks priced or secured this specific risk, what leverage or loan-to-value ratio applies, or whether any drawdowns depend on customer pre-lease commitments. VIRTUS and Standard Chartered both describe the transaction as one of the largest of its kind in the UK data-centre sector, but this is the companies' own characterisation; no independently verified ranking of comparable UK data-centre bank financings was found. The deal is best read as evidence of lender confidence in this sponsor and this pipeline, not as proof that banks will finance any AI-linked data-centre proposal on similar terms.

UK scale and constraints

VIRTUS said its UK estate comprised more than 300MW of combined operational and committed capacity as at 30 June 2026, without stating how that total splits between the two. For context, the Department for Science, Innovation and Technology estimated Great Britain's operational colocation capacity at 1.6GW in autumn 2024, including 1,048MW in London and 128MW in South East England; that estimate excludes enterprise data centres and is not directly comparable with VIRTUS's mixed operational-and-committed figure. The Office for National Statistics separately reported that UK data centres used an estimated 4.5TWh of grid electricity in 2024 — 2% of Great Britain's 249.2TWh grid consumption, and 41% more than in 2020 — a reminder that added IT load eventually shows up as grid demand.

The UK government designated data centres as Critical National Infrastructure on 12 September 2024, placing the sector alongside functions such as energy and water supply for resilience planning. That status supports coordination and resilience measures; it does not itself guarantee planning consent, grid connection capacity, or that financed projects will be built on schedule.

What to watch next

The facility documents that would settle pricing, security, leverage and green-loan eligibility have not been published. Readers who want the underlying detail should look to VIRTUS's and Standard Chartered's own investor and press disclosures as they update, and to the Environment Agency's public register for the current status of the Saunderton permit application. Milestones worth tracking include any disclosure of drawdowns against the £2.45bn, resolution of the withdrawn Saunderton permit notice, the start of construction at LONDON19, and any future statement from VIRTUS on commissioned, rather than planned, megawatts at Saunderton.

Sources

  1. London Data Centres | Saunderton Campus (opens in a new tab)

    VIRTUS Data Centres · Accessed

  2. VIRTUS announces expansion with the addition of LONDON19 (opens in a new tab)

    VIRTUS Data Centres · · Accessed

  3. Estimate of Data Centre Capacity: Great Britain 2024 (opens in a new tab)

    Department for Science, Innovation and Technology · · Accessed

  4. Data centres and the UK National Accounts (opens in a new tab)

    Office for National Statistics · · Accessed

  5. Data centres to be given massive boost and protections from cyber criminals and IT blackouts (opens in a new tab)

    Department for Science, Innovation and Technology · · Accessed

  6. VIRTUS secures £2.45bn financing for expansion (opens in a new tab)

    DataCentral · · Accessed

  7. UK Data Centre Giant Bags £2.45B Debt Facility (opens in a new tab)

    Bisnow · · Accessed