FintechOS raises $28m; equity-debt split and terms undisclosed
FintechOS says it has raised $28m in combined equity and debt, including a Santander CIB facility, but has not disclosed the split, terms or valuation behind the round.
- Published

FintechOS, a London-headquartered banking and insurance software company, said on 21 September 2026 that it had raised $28m in combined equity and debt financing. The round drew on FintechOS's existing shareholder base — Bek Ventures, the International Finance Corporation (IFC), Cipio Partners and Molten Ventures — alongside a senior debt facility from Santander Corporate & Investment Banking (Santander CIB).
The figure is in US dollars, not pounds. FintechOS did not disclose how the $28m splits between equity and debt, the value or terms of the Santander facility, or the valuation attached to the equity. That matters for anyone assessing the round: without a breakdown, it is not possible to say how much was supplied as equity versus borrowing, or what repayment or financing obligations attach to the debt portion.
FintechOS sells software that lets banks, building societies and insurers manage product design, pricing, origination and servicing on top of their existing core systems, rather than replacing those systems outright. It is a software supplier to those regulated firms, not itself a bank, building society or insurer. The company said the new financing would support its US expansion, deepen its European client portfolio and scale delivery of what it calls an AI-native platform.
A mixed package, terms undisclosed
FintechOS's own announcement, published on 21 September 2026, describes the $28m as "combined equity and debt financing" and names the shareholders providing equity alongside a Santander CIB senior debt facility. Trade press coverage from FinTech Global repeated the same amount, backers and stated use of proceeds on the same day.
What the company has not said is more significant than what it has. There is no disclosed split between the equity and debt components, no stated principal, interest rate, maturity or covenant terms for the Santander facility, and no valuation figure for the equity portion. It is also unclear whether the full $28m has closed or been drawn down. Readers should treat the headline figure as the company's own characterisation of the transaction rather than a verified capital-raising total.
What Companies House shows about the Santander facility
Companies House, the UK's registrar of companies, provides independent corroboration that a Santander entity holds security over FintechOS Technology UK Ltd, the company's UK subsidiary — though the public record is narrower than the September announcement.
The register shows an outstanding charge in favour of Banco Santander, S.A. over FintechOS Technology UK Ltd, created on 22 May 2026 and delivered to Companies House on 28 May 2026. The charge contains fixed and floating security, covers all property or undertaking under the floating element, and includes a negative pledge. The filed instrument does not set out the negative pledge's precise terms or any exceptions, and Companies House does not record the amount secured; it also warns that it does not check the accuracy of information filed with it.
Two points follow. First, the charge predates the funding announcement by four months, which raises the question of whether it secures only the facility announced in September or other obligations as well — a point that the full security documentation and facility agreement would need to settle. Second, the charge identifies the lender as Banco Santander, S.A. rather than by the Santander CIB brand used in FintechOS's release; the two are consistent with the same banking group, but the public filing does not itself confirm the "Santander CIB" description.
FintechOS Technology UK Ltd, company number 11857916, is recorded as an active private company, incorporated on 4 March 2019, with a registered office at 6th Floor, 9 Appold Street, London EC2A 2AP.
Profitability, without a definition
FintechOS said it had reached profitability, repeating a claim first made in a company release on 15 June 2026 and restated in the 21 September announcement. Neither release states whether "profitability" means statutory operating profit, net profit, EBITDA, adjusted EBITDA or positive cash flow, and no absolute profit figures were disclosed.
The claim also cannot currently be checked against UK filings. FintechOS Technology UK Ltd's most recent accounts on the Companies House register cover the year ended 31 December 2025, before the period the profitability claim concerns. Its next accounting period runs to 31 December 2026, with a filing deadline of 30 September 2027, so audited figures covering the period FintechOS is discussing will not be publicly available for some time. UK subsidiary accounts, when they do appear, would in any case reflect only the UK entity rather than the wider group.
FintechOS also said operational EBITDA grew by more than 102% in the first half of 2026, again without disclosing absolute figures or defining the measure. A percentage increase in a metric does not by itself establish that the underlying figure is positive.
Growth numbers that have moved between releases
FintechOS's central growth claims — 40% year-on-year recurring-revenue growth and 130% US growth — are unaudited, company-reported figures. Both figures appear in the 15 June 2026 release and are repeated in the 21 September announcement, but the wording around them has changed, and an earlier disclosure from one of FintechOS's own investors uses different numbers again.
| Metric | June 2026 release | September 2026 release | Molten Ventures FY2026 annual report |
|---|---|---|---|
| Recurring-revenue growth | 40% year-on-year, stated as at the end of Q1 2026 | 40% year-on-year, described as growth over H1 2026 | 50% annual recurring-revenue growth reported for FintechOS, measurement period unstated |
| US growth | 130% year-on-year | 130% year-on-year | On track for 300% year-on-year US revenue growth (a forecast) |
| Forward target | $35m annual recurring revenue for 2026 | More than 200% year-on-year US growth over the following 12 months | Not stated |
The available company and investor disclosures do not contain enough detail to reconcile these figures. It is unclear whether the 40% recurring-revenue figure was unchanged between Q1 and H1 2026, whether it was recalculated, or whether the period description simply broadened without a fresh calculation. It is similarly unclear whether Molten Ventures' 50% recurring-revenue figure and 300% US forecast refer to an earlier period, a different metric, or a different snapshot in the company's growth trajectory than the 40% and 130% figures FintechOS later reported. Molten Ventures' annual report covers the year to 31 March 2026 and describes the 300% figure explicitly as an outlook rather than a realised result.
None of FintechOS's growth figures disclose an absolute starting or ending value, a currency, a defined scope, or how the company treats revenue from newly acquired business when calculating growth. The same applies to its forward-looking targets: more than 20 new financial institutions expected to adopt FintechOS 8 during 2026, and more than 200% year-on-year US growth in the 12 months after the funding announcement, are both stated as expectations rather than completed results as of 21 September 2026.
Where FintechOS says the money will go
FintechOS said the financing would support three things: its US expansion base, its European client portfolio, and delivery capacity for its AI-native platform. The company frames the European side as consolidation after what it has described as a period of consolidation during 2023 and 2024, though the announcement mostly describes deepening existing client relationships rather than detailing any restructuring of operations or staffing.
These are stated intentions rather than evidence of money already spent or expansion already under way.
What "AI-native" means here
FintechOS describes its FintechOS 8 platform, and a feature called Dex, as allowing non-technical staff at banks and insurers to configure products and workflows using natural language rather than code. The company has said its agentic configuration approach can reduce the time needed to configure product rules by up to 60%, a figure it attributes to its own data without publishing a methodology, sample size, baseline or independent validation.
No independent technical assessment in the available material tests the extent to which FintechOS 8 is built natively around AI, as opposed to adding AI-based features to an existing platform. Readers should treat "AI-native" as the company's own description of its product rather than a verified technical classification.
Why this belongs in a UK context
FintechOS's UK entity, FintechOS Technology UK Ltd, is registered and active in London, and IFC's own project disclosure — separate from the September announcement — identifies London as the company's headquarters, with a main office in Bucharest. IFC's disclosure also confirms that FintechOS Holding B.V. was previously approved for a $9.82m equity investment in 2021 (rounded to $10m in IFC's contemporaneous press release), which is consistent with IFC's continued position as a shareholder in the current round.
FintechOS is a software supplier to regulated firms, not itself a deposit-taker or insurer, and its debt facility from Santander CIB is a corporate lending arrangement between two businesses rather than a consumer product. The relevance to UK readers lies in the company's London headquarters and its UK subsidiary's regulatory filings, rather than in any confirmed list of UK institutions using its software, which this reporting has not established.
What to watch next
The facts that would resolve the open questions in this story are not yet public. They include: the executed terms of the Santander CIB facility, the equity/debt split, the equity valuation, FintechOS's definition of "profitability," absolute figures behind the 40% recurring-revenue and 130% US growth claims, and audited group accounts covering 2026. FintechOS Technology UK Ltd's accounts for the year to 31 December 2026 are due at Companies House by 30 September 2027 and will cover only the UK entity. FintechOS has also said it expects more than 20 new financial institutions to adopt FintechOS 8 during 2026; whether named customer launches follow, and whether the company's US growth reaches the more-than-200% target it has set for the year after this announcement, are the clearest tests of the claims made alongside this financing.
Sources
- FintechOS Secures $28M in Combined Equity and Debt Financing (opens in a new tab)
FintechOS · · Accessed
- FINTECHOS TECHNOLOGY UK LTD: charge code 1185 7916 0002 (opens in a new tab)
Companies House · · Accessed
- FINTECHOS TECHNOLOGY UK LTD overview (opens in a new tab)
Companies House · Accessed
- FINTECHOS TECHNOLOGY UK LTD filing history (opens in a new tab)
Companies House · Accessed
- Molten Ventures plc Annual Report and Accounts 2026 (opens in a new tab)
Molten Ventures plc · · Accessed
- 45087 – FintechOS (opens in a new tab)
International Finance Corporation · · Accessed
- IFC Invests in FintechOS to Drive the Digital Transformation of Financial Services and Boost Financial Inclusion (opens in a new tab)
International Finance Corporation · · Accessed
- FintechOS raises $28m to fund US expansion (opens in a new tab)
FinTech Global · · Accessed