Saffron Building Society taps FintechOS for mortgage overhaul
Saffron Building Society has picked FintechOS for a staged mortgage-origination overhaul that integrates with, rather than replaces, its existing Finova servicing platform.
- Published

Saffron Building Society has selected FintechOS to build a new mortgage-origination platform, covering everything from broker registration to completion, while leaving its existing Finova servicing system in place. FintechOS announced the partnership on 17 September 2026; Saffron published its own announcement on 21 September. Saffron's chief transformation officer, Qasir Aslam, told Computer Weekly that the first release would focus on residential mortgages before other products are added.
The deal matters to UK brokers who place business with Saffron, to the members and applicants who use its mortgages, and to the wider mutual sector: the Building Societies Association (BSA) says building societies and the two mutual-owned banks held £493.4bn of residential mortgages, or 29% of the UK total, as of September 2025. Saffron is a mutual with no external shareholders, and its choice illustrates a pattern some UK mutual lenders are following: renewing the customer-facing application journey without replacing the core system that administers a mortgage once it completes.
What Saffron has bought
Mortgage origination covers everything that happens before a loan completes: registering and managing brokers, producing a decision in principle (an early, indicative assessment of how much a lender might advance before a full application is submitted), taking the full application, underwriting it, issuing a formal offer and completing the loan. Servicing is different — it is the ongoing administration of a mortgage once it exists, after origination is complete.
According to FintechOS's announcement, the planned platform will cover Saffron's product range and support broker registration and management, decisions in principle, full applications, underwriting, offers and completions. Saffron distributes new specialist mortgage business exclusively through intermediaries, with a focus on complex residential, buy-to-let and self-build lending, so the origination journey sits largely in broker hands rather than being a direct-to-consumer channel.
Crucially, FintechOS's own account frames the eventual deployment as spanning Saffron's full product range. That is a statement of intended scope, not a description of what goes live first — a distinction the rollout timeline makes clear.
A residential-first rollout, not a single switch-on
Aslam told Computer Weekly that the first release will concentrate on residential mortgage origination, with other products added iteratively once the platform is live. He indicated Saffron was seeking a first release in early 2027, though neither source in this reporting gives a fixed, contractual go-live date. Readers should treat "early 2027" as an indicative target rather than a confirmed milestone.
The sources do not say which legacy systems or manual processes will be retired, retained or run in parallel during this transition, nor when specialist products such as buy-to-let or self-build will follow the initial residential release. Brokers with cases already in progress during any cutover, and the support available to complex applicants who fall outside automated rules, are not addressed in the material available for this article.
Why Finova stays: an overlay, not a core replacement
FintechOS said its platform was chosen partly because it can operate above Saffron's existing infrastructure rather than requiring the core to be replaced. The new origination platform is intended to integrate with Saffron's existing Finova servicing platform, which will continue to administer mortgages after they complete.
This overlay approach separates the customer- and broker-facing application journey from the back-office system that already handles servicing. Saffron and FintechOS have not disclosed contract value, implementation budget or a comparative risk assessment, so how this separation affects the cost and risk of the technology change compared with a full core migration remains undisclosed. Saffron's own public announcement of the partnership, posted on LinkedIn on 21 September 2026, confirms it will integrate with existing systems but does not name Finova specifically — that detail comes from FintechOS's announcement. No first-party Finova document or technical architecture disclosure was available to confirm how data will move between the two systems, who owns that data, or what happens if an integration fails and delays a case. Those are open questions rather than settled facts.
The financial backdrop
Saffron's audited results for the year to 31 December 2025 provide context on the society's scale and its cost pressures alongside transformation spending.
| Measure | 2025 | 2024 |
|---|---|---|
| Total assets | £1.545bn | — |
| Mortgage balances | £1.207bn | £1.179bn |
| Gross mortgage lending | £289m | — |
| Net mortgage lending | £62m | £47m |
| Underlying profit before tax | £3.8m | £7.9m |
| Statutory profit after tax | £0.2m | £4.1m |
Source: Saffron Building Society Annual Report and Accounts 2025.
Saffron's annual report cites transformation costs among the factors affecting underlying profit in 2025. Computer Weekly reported that Saffron employs roughly 200 people, including around 35 in its transformation team — a sizeable share of headcount given the society's balance-sheet scale.
Aslam also told Computer Weekly that Saffron wants to double mortgage lending to £2bn over five years. The report does not specify whether that £2bn figure refers to annual gross lending, cumulative lending, mortgage balances or another measure, nor does it give a precise baseline year or end date. It should not be read as directly comparable to the £1.207bn of mortgage balances or £289m of annual gross lending reported for 2025.
Automation and AI, with humans still in the loop
FintechOS's announcement describes automated decisioning, an AI-supported underwriting workflow, centrally managed business rules, affordability calculations and product-configuration tools among the planned functions. Saffron and FintechOS both frame artificial intelligence as a support to staff and underwriting judgement rather than a replacement for it — Aslam described a case-by-case approach to automation in his Computer Weekly interview.
These are vendor and customer plans for a platform that had not gone live as of 27 September 2026, not measured outcomes. No baseline or target has been disclosed for decision-in-principle times, application-to-offer times, straight-through-processing rates, document requests or broker satisfaction, so any claim that the system will speed up mortgage decisions or reduce paperwork is a prospective claim, not a demonstrated result. Saffron's and FintechOS's public materials also use different names for the staff-facing AI assistant, a minor inconsistency that has not been resolved in the sources reviewed. Governance details — including model testing, explainability, bias monitoring and the data used to train any automated tools — were not disclosed.
What this says about UK mutual lenders
FintechOS describes Saffron as its second announced UK building-society partnership of 2026, after Vernon Building Society in April 2026. Building societies and the two mutual-owned banks accounted for 32% of UK net mortgage lending and more than 220,000 approvals (31% of the market) in the six months to September 2025, according to BSA data — a reminder that mutual lenders collectively represent a substantial share of UK mortgage activity even where individual societies, like Saffron, are comparatively small.
Two announced deployments are not sufficient evidence of a sector-wide migration, and the packet supporting this article does not identify other building societies taking the same overlay approach. What the Saffron deal does show is one plausible route for a mutual lender: modernising the origination journey while leaving an established servicing core in place, rather than committing to a full core-system replacement.
Risk context for applicants
Saffron, like other mortgage lenders, secures a mortgage against the borrower's home; the society's own guidance warns that failure to maintain repayments can result in repossession. Nothing in this article suggests the FintechOS deployment changes that fundamental risk, and readers considering a mortgage with any lender should refer to the lender's own product terms rather than treating platform changes as altering the underlying commitment.
What to watch next
The clearest markers to follow are whether Saffron confirms a firm go-live date for the residential release beyond the indicative "early 2027" window, which products follow after residential mortgages, and whether Saffron publishes any measured service data — on decision speed, offer times or broker experience — once the platform is live. Saffron's next annual report and any further statements from its transformation team are the primary sources to check for progress against the reported £2bn lending ambition and the underlying metric it is measured against.
Sources
- Saffron Building Society drinks its ‘first drop’ of artificial intelligence (opens in a new tab)
Computer Weekly · · Accessed
- Annual Report and Accounts 2025 (opens in a new tab)
Saffron Building Society · · Accessed
- Building society sector continues to grow as consumers seek better value (opens in a new tab)
Building Societies Association · · Accessed
- Investing in Mortgage Service Transformation with FintechOS (opens in a new tab)
Saffron Building Society · · Accessed
- Mortgages explained (opens in a new tab)
Saffron Building Society · Accessed


