Skip to content

Revolut confirms first branded airport lounge for Copenhagen

Revolut has signed its first branded airport lounge deal, due to open at Copenhagen Airport in 2027, with wider European ambitions. No UK lounge, access terms or costs have been confirmed.

By

Published
A lone, oversized airport lounge entrance with closed glass doors and no sign above it, standing in an empty terminal hall with a single luggage trolley waiting in front.

Revolut has signed its first agreement to build a company-branded airport lounge, confirming on 13 August 2026 that the facility will open at Copenhagen Airport in 2027. The announcement sets out a longer-term ambition to build a network of Revolut Lounges at "key European aviation hubs", but as of 4 October 2026 Copenhagen is the only site Revolut has actually agreed. No UK airport has been named, and Revolut has not said which customers will get in, what a visit will cost, or when the wider rollout might happen.

For the more than 75 million customers Revolut said it served worldwide when it made the announcement, this is a statement of strategic intent rather than a new UK benefit. It matters now because it marks an extension of Revolut's offer beyond the app into physical premium travel experiences, and because UK customers who pay for an eligible subscription or buy a lounge pass already use a separate, existing lounge benefit that remains distinct from this new network; Revolut has not said whether that will change.

What the Copenhagen agreement covers

Revolut said it has signed a partnership agreement with Copenhagen Airport to open the CPH Revolut Lounge, which it describes as its first branded airport lounge. Copenhagen Airports, the airport operator, confirmed separately that it selected Revolut for the lounge concept, with the facility due to open in a new terminal area during 2027. Neither side has given a month or a firm opening date, only the calendar year.

Plaza Premium Group, an airport lounge and hospitality operator, is named as the operating and investment partner for the Copenhagen project. Some press coverage of the announcement has described Revolut as the operator of the future lounges; the primary announcements from Revolut, Copenhagen Airports and Plaza Premium Group itself are consistent in describing Plaza Premium Group as the operating and investment partner.

Revolut has also described the Copenhagen lounge as set to become Copenhagen Airport's flagship lounge and "the largest common-use lounge in the Schengen area". No floor area, seat count, or comparison methodology has been published to support that claim, so it should be read as Revolut's own description rather than an independently verified fact.

One confirmed lounge, a wider ambition

Revolut's announcement frames Copenhagen as the first step in a plan to develop premium lounges at "selected priority markets" and "key European aviation hubs" over the coming years. That is a stated strategy, not a committed schedule. The reviewed evidence contains no second airport, no total number of planned sites, no investment figure, and no timetable beyond the single word "2027" attached to Copenhagen. Business Traveller's report on the announcement makes the same point: the proposed network currently rests on one confirmed location.

Revolut tied the Copenhagen project to its growth in the region, saying it had more than 2 million customers in the Nordic region as of 13 August 2026, that it expected to pass 3 million there by the end of 2026, and that it expected to reach 500,000 customers in Denmark before the Copenhagen lounge opens. These are company figures and forecasts rather than independently audited totals, and Revolut has not explained how it defines a customer for these purposes.

What it means for UK customers

Nothing in the announcement names a UK airport, and nothing confirms that UK-based Revolut customers will be able to use the Copenhagen lounge, let alone any lounge that might follow it. Revolut has not disclosed which of its subscription tiers, if any, will carry access rights to the branded network, whether entry will be complimentary or charged, or what guest rules will apply. Spanish outlet Cinco Días reported the same gap when covering the announcement: Revolut had not specified qualifying subscriptions, the airports that will follow Copenhagen, or the pace of expansion.

A UK reader should not assume that rules from Revolut's existing lounge benefit will simply carry over to the new branded lounges. They are, at present, separate things.

How this differs from today's lounge benefit

Revolut UK customers already have a lounge-access feature, and it predates and is distinct from the Revolut Lounge project. The current UK terms identify LoungeKey as the provider of passes bought through the Revolut app, a change that took effect from 10 June 2026 (Revolut previously used a different provider, DragonPass, and passes bought before the change may remain subject to earlier terms).

Under the live UK terms, customers on Revolut's Ultra plan receive complimentary lounge passes for their own use, while customers on other plans, and Ultra customers buying passes for guests, pay a price shown in the app that can change. Revolut's UK Ultra product page advertises the plan at £55 a month or £540 a year, current as reviewed on 4 October 2026, and markets it as including access to more than 1,600 airport lounges worldwide. Revolut's separate UK fee schedule gives the same £55 monthly and £540 annual figures, with that pricing effective for existing customers from 13 February 2026.

FeatureToday's UK lounge benefitPlanned Revolut Lounge network
ProviderLoungeKey (from 10 June 2026)Plaza Premium Group (operating/investment partner, Copenhagen)
Confirmed locations1,600+ lounges worldwide (Revolut's figure)One: Copenhagen Airport
UK access confirmedYes, through existing plansNot stated
Cost to Ultra customersComplimentary for own use; guest passes priced in-appNot disclosed
Regulatory statusUnregulated feature under current UK termsNot yet stated

Revolut's own UK terms for the existing lounge feature state that it is not a regulated service and that related complaints are unlikely to fall within the jurisdiction of the Financial Ombudsman Service. That applies to the Lounge Pass benefit specifically, not to the regulated status of a Revolut bank account or its underlying payment services, which sit under different rules. Revolut has not said whether the future branded lounges will be governed by similar terms.

Why Revolut is moving beyond the app

Revolut has described the lounge investment as reflecting an ambition to move beyond financial products and build physical experiences around customer needs, rather than confining its premium offer to features inside the app. Industry coverage of the announcement has characterised it the same way: a shift from smartphone banking into physical travel services, built on top of a subscription model that already charges UK customers £55 a month or £540 a year for benefits including lounge access. Whether that bet pays off commercially is not something the evidence in this announcement can settle, and FinTechPulse is not assessing it as an investment case.

What to watch next

Several things remain open and will determine whether this matters practically for UK customers: a firm opening date for Copenhagen within 2027, any named airport beyond Copenhagen, confirmation of which Revolut plans (if any) will carry branded-lounge access, whether visits will be free or charged, and whether a UK airport features anywhere in the eventual network. None of that is in Revolut's 13 August 2026 announcement or in the material reviewed for this article. Readers considering whether to buy or upgrade a Revolut plan on the strength of the lounge announcement should check Revolut's own current terms and fee pages directly, since those can change, rather than assume the Copenhagen project already affects their access or costs.

Sources

  1. Revolut åbner lounge i Københavns Lufthavn (opens in a new tab)

    Copenhagen Airports A/S · Accessed

  2. Airport Lounge Passes (opens in a new tab)

    Revolut · Accessed

  3. Airport Lounge Passes (opens in a new tab)

    Revolut · · Accessed

  4. Revolut Ultra (opens in a new tab)

    Revolut · Accessed

  5. Personal fees (Ultra) (opens in a new tab)

    Revolut · · Accessed

All Companies & Funding coverage