IBM opens beta link to Swift's tokenised deposit ledger
IBM has opened a beta link letting Digital Asset Haven clients instruct tokenised-deposit transactions on Swift's shared ledger via ISO 20022 messages, but settlement still runs through existing systems and IBM has not named the 17 pilot banks.
- Published

IBM said on 24 September 2026 that clients of its Digital Asset Haven platform can now use a beta ISO 20022 Messaging Adapter to connect to permissioned blockchain networks, including Swift's blockchain-based shared ledger. The adapter lets a bank instruct a tokenised-deposit transaction using ISO 20022, the standardised financial-message framework banks already use for payments, rather than adopting a new instruction format for each digital ledger it touches.
The announcement matters to UK readers because British banks are separately running live pilots of tokenised sterling deposits. On the same day, UK Finance said seven institutions — Barclays, HSBC UK, Lloyds Banking Group, Monzo, Nationwide, NatWest and Santander — had completed the first live customer transactions in its Great British Tokenised Deposit initiative, using a shared platform built by Quant. That project is separate from IBM's Swift connection, but both point to the same underlying problem: how a bank moves tokenised money without rebuilding its payments operations from scratch.
The Swift/IBM service has not completed final settlement on a blockchain: IBM says settlement of tokenised-deposit transactions still takes place through existing systems, and Swift describes its ledger as an orchestration layer that connects tokenised deposits held on participating banks' own ledgers, rather than a settlement system in its own right. How the UK Finance initiative's transactions were finally settled is not specified in the material reviewed. IBM has also not named the 17 institutions Swift said were preparing to pilot the ledger, and no source reviewed confirms that any UK bank has used IBM's connection for a tokenised sterling transaction.
How the connection works
Three layers sit behind the announcement. A participating bank holds its own tokenised deposits on its own ledger. Swift's shared ledger acts as an orchestration layer linking those bank ledgers together, so tokens can move between institutions. IBM Digital Asset Haven is the bank-facing platform through which a client accesses that shared ledger, and the new beta adapter is what lets a client instruct a transaction on it using a standard ISO 20022 payment message.
The distinction that matters is between instruction and settlement. ISO 20022 supplies the message that tells a bank's systems what a customer or counterparty wants to happen; it is not itself the settlement asset, and it does not perform settlement. Swift says tokenised funds can move for customers overnight and at weekends, ahead of final settlement being completed through established systems. That 24/7 language describes token movement on the ledger, not continuous final settlement — settlement still depends on the established systems that ultimately complete it.
What the 17-bank pilot does and doesn't establish
Swift announced on 9 July 2026 that 17 banks from six continents were preparing to pilot live transactions on its ledger, and said the ledger had moved from concept to activation in nine months with input from international financial institutions. IBM's 24 September release says Swift's ledger was designed in collaboration with more than 40 financial institutions worldwide, and that institutions participating in the programme have tested tokenised deposits on the ledger using Digital Asset Haven.
IBM does not name those institutions, does not say how many of the 17 used its technology, and gives no test count, transaction values, currencies or independent test report. Swift's own July release quotes several named banks in connection with the programme, including HSBC and Lloyds Banking Group, but it does not set out a clearly labelled, complete roster of all 17 participants. It is not established whether those quoted banks are the same entities named in Swift's pilot, whether they took part through UK or overseas group entities, or whether any of them used IBM's platform specifically.
There is also a difference in emphasis worth flagging rather than smoothing over: Swift's July release called the ledger "ready for initial use" and quoted one participant describing it as "live infrastructure", while the same announcement said banks were still preparing pilot transactions. Read together, this points to an activation and early-pilot stage, not evidence of a fully scaled production settlement service.
Why this matters for UK banks testing tokenised sterling deposits
UK Finance's Great British Tokenised Deposit initiative is the clearer domestic reference point. Its seven members completed three live retail transactions — two remortgage completions and one consumer marketplace purchase — using a shared platform developed by Quant. UK Finance defines a tokenised deposit as a digital representation of traditional commercial-bank money and says the products are intended to retain the protections associated with conventional deposits.
The two initiatives are not the same programme, and nothing in the available material suggests they are technically linked. The table below sets out what is disclosed about each.
| Swift / IBM global pilot | UK Great British Tokenised Deposit initiative | |
|---|---|---|
| Announced | 9 July 2026 (Swift); 24 September 2026 (IBM adapter) | 24 September 2026 |
| Platform | Swift shared ledger, accessed via IBM Digital Asset Haven for some participants | Shared platform developed by Quant |
| Participants named | Not fully disclosed; Swift's release quotes some banks, including HSBC and Lloyds Banking Group | Barclays, HSBC UK, Lloyds Banking Group, Monzo, Nationwide, NatWest, Santander |
| Live customer transactions disclosed | Not disclosed in the material reviewed | Two remortgage completions, one marketplace purchase |
| Final settlement | Existing systems, after ledger-based orchestration | Not specified in the material reviewed |
IBM's ISO 20022 adapter is best understood as an example of the kind of interoperability tool UK banks may eventually need if they want tokenised-deposit ledgers to talk to each other and to existing payment infrastructure. It is not evidence that any UK bank is using it today, and it does not connect the GBTD initiative to Swift's ledger.
UK regulatory context: a deposit, not a stablecoin
Tokenised bank deposits and stablecoins are distinct instruments under UK policy thinking. A tokenised deposit represents a claim on a deposit-taking bank; a qualifying stablecoin falls within a separate UK regulatory framework. UK Finance says tokenised deposits are intended to retain the protections associated with conventional deposits, but the exact protection available to a customer depends on the legal claim, the issuing entity, customer eligibility and the specific product structure — it cannot be assumed to apply uniformly, and readers should check the official detail for any specific product rather than infer coverage from the general description.
The Prudential Regulation Authority updated its expectations on 18 May 2026, in a letter that supersedes its 2023 letter, applying existing prudential expectations to banks developing tokenised deposits and other forms of digital money. On the same date, the Bank of England and Financial Conduct Authority published a shared vision for tokenisation in UK wholesale markets, identifying interoperability and settlement infrastructure as central issues. The Bank of England has said its upgraded Real-Time Gross Settlement platform is intended to support settlement in central-bank money, and that integration between RTGS and tokenised transactions is being tested, with a targeted 2028 date for a live synchronisation service.
None of this UK regulatory material endorses IBM's product or Swift's ledger specifically. It confirms that UK authorities see interoperability as a live design question, which is the same problem IBM's adapter is aimed at.
What isn't known yet
Several practical questions remain open. IBM has not disclosed which institutions tested the Swift ledger through Digital Asset Haven, how many tests took place, or in what currencies. The ISO 20022 message types supported, the technical architecture, and any expected date for general availability were not set out in IBM's announcement. No independent assurance or security assessment of the beta connection has been published in the material reviewed, and the division of legal and operational responsibility between Swift, IBM and participating banks has not been detailed publicly. Separately, whether the Bank of England's RTGS synchronisation work will ever connect to private tokenised-deposit ledgers such as Swift's is not confirmed by either institution.
For any reader considering a tokenised-deposit product, the same general caution applies as to any product that can affect money held with a bank: check the specific terms, the identity of the issuing entity, and whether standard deposit protections actually apply to that instrument, rather than assuming a new product automatically carries the same protection as a conventional current account.
What to watch next
The clearer signals to look for are: whether IBM or any bank names the institutions that tested tokenised deposits through Digital Asset Haven; whether Swift publishes results from its pilot; whether IBM sets a general-availability date and specifies supported currencies; and whether UK Finance's Great British Tokenised Deposit initiative or the Bank of England's RTGS synchronisation work is reported as connecting to Swift's ledger. Official detail on each strand sits with IBM's newsroom, Swift's press releases, UK Finance and the Bank of England directly.
Sources
- Letter from David Bailey, Charlotte Gerken and Rebecca Jackson on reaffirming the PRA's position and clarifying expectations on innovations in the use of deposits, e-money and stablecoins (opens in a new tab)
Prudential Regulation Authority, Bank of England · · Accessed
- FCA and Bank of England set out shared vision for tokenisation in UK wholesale markets (opens in a new tab)
Bank of England and Financial Conduct Authority · · Accessed
- Progress update: Digital Pound Design Phase (opens in a new tab)
Bank of England · · Accessed


