Skip to content

FE fundinfo links Nexus adviser platform to intelliflo

FE fundinfo has linked its Nexus meeting workflow to intelliflo, but its claim that this frees up adviser capacity rests on a company survey whose 192-hour figure isn't explained in public materials.

By

Published
A filing cabinet with two open drawers full of identical paper forms, one form stretched between them as if being copied from one drawer to the other.

FE fundinfo has connected the meeting workflow inside its Nexus for Financial Advisers platform to intelliflo, letting UK advisers pull client data from intelliflo into a Nexus meeting and send information captured in Nexus workflows back to the intelliflo record. The company announced the update on 24 September 2026 and said further connections to other customer relationship management (CRM) systems are due by the end of the year.

The change affects advice firms that run both Nexus and intelliflo office, intelliflo's practice-management software for client data, workflow and CRM. FE fundinfo says its wider Nexus platform already brings together investment research, cashflow planning and client meetings, and the intelliflo link is intended to stop advisers re-keying the same client details across separate systems during that process.

FE fundinfo has paired the launch with its own company survey finding that advisers spend an average of 192 hours a year reconciling data between platforms, and that fragmented software is holding back how many clients an adviser can serve. Those claims deserve scrutiny before they are treated as an industry fact, because the public survey material does not support the 192-hour figure in the form FE fundinfo has presented it, and the Financial Conduct Authority's own market data tells a more limited story about adviser capacity.

What the connection actually does

According to FE fundinfo's announcement, the feature sits inside Nexus Assistant's meeting workflow: an adviser preparing for or running a client meeting can bring in data already held in intelliflo, and once the meeting has generated new information, that can be pushed back into the intelliflo record.

FE fundinfo has not published the technical detail a firm would need to assess the release. The announcement does not say which specific data fields are covered, whether the transfer happens automatically or needs adviser approval, how conflicting entries in the two systems are resolved, or which platform is treated as the authoritative client record. No corresponding confirmation from intelliflo, and no public technical release note describing version requirements, pricing or rollout timing, was located in the material reviewed. Firms considering the integration will need to seek that detail directly from the two companies rather than from the launch announcement alone.

Not the first link between the two companies

The September announcement is easy to read as FE fundinfo's first integration with intelliflo. It is not. intelliflo already documents a two-way integration between intelliflo office and FE CashCalc, FE fundinfo's cashflow-planning tool, covering personal information, savings and investments, income and pensions, assets and liabilities, and data captured on intelliflo's Data Capture Form.

What appears to be new is the extension of that connectivity into Nexus Assistant's meeting workflow, which sits alongside FE CashCalc inside the broader Nexus for Financial Advisers product. FE fundinfo has not explained how the new connection differs technically from the existing CashCalc link, so the precise incremental capability is unclear from public material.

Testing the capacity claim

FE fundinfo's case for the integration rests heavily on its 2026 Financial Adviser Survey, which is the company's own research. The publicly available survey landing page states that 95% of respondents believe they use too many software tools, and that 50% spend four to six hours a week reconciling data across platforms.

The 24 September launch announcement goes further, converting this into an average of 192 hours per adviser per year. That figure does not appear on the survey landing page itself, and FE fundinfo has not published how it was calculated. Four hours a week across 48 working weeks would produce 192 hours, but that is an inference a reader has to make, not a stated methodology, and it treats one end of a reported range as if it were the sample average. The survey's sample size, fieldwork dates, respondent profile and weighting are also not disclosed in the material reviewed, which limits how far the 95% and 192-hour figures can be treated as representative of UK advisers generally.

A further inconsistency reinforces the need for caution. FE fundinfo's own commentary on the same survey says 95% of respondents had already deployed artificial intelligence tools. The FCA's separate, much larger 2025 survey of advice firms found planned near-term AI deployment ranging from about 14% of small firms to 52% of large firms. Different questions and different samples may explain the gap, but it is not a basis for treating FE fundinfo's respondent pool as a proxy for the UK advice market as a whole.

None of this means the underlying mechanism is wrong. Duplicate data entry across separate meeting, planning and CRM tools plausibly does cost advisers time. But the packet does not contain any independent measurement of that time, any deployment or adoption data for the new integration, or any evidence that reduced rekeying translates into more clients served. FE fundinfo's claim that the integration will release adviser capacity is the company's stated intention, not a demonstrated outcome.

What the FCA's own data shows

The FCA published its own findings on the advice market on 23 April 2026, based on a survey of more than 4,100 UK financial advice firms with data extracted on 1 December 2025. It found that the number of UK financial advisers has remained broadly stable at around 31,000 since 2021, alongside about 5,500 firms offering advice, 4.1 million retail clients and roughly £1tn of assets under advice.

The regulator also reported that only around 9% of consumers, or 4.6 million people, currently take financial advice, and that around 7 million UK adults hold at least £10,000 in cash savings, which it frames as evidence of unmet demand. This is a genuine, regulator-sourced advice gap. It is a different thing from FE fundinfo's claim that fragmented software is the constraint on capacity: the FCA's figures show static adviser numbers and unmet demand, but they do not attribute either to the number of software tools a firm uses, and the regulator has not assessed or endorsed FE fundinfo's product or its survey.

MetricFigureSourceData as of
UK financial advisers~31,000, stable since 2021FCA (published 23 April 2026)1 December 2025
Advice firms~5,500 (down 15% since 2021)FCA (published 23 April 2026)1 December 2025
Retail clients4.1 millionFCA (published 23 April 2026)1 December 2025
Assets under advice~£1tnFCA (published 23 April 2026)1 December 2025
Consumers taking advice~9% (4.6 million people)FCA (published 23 April 2026)Not specified in source
Claimed reconciliation time192 hours/adviser/yearFE fundinfo (unexplained calculation)24 September 2026

Risk and implementation questions for firms

Firms weighing up the integration are moving client data, some of it sensitive financial and personal information, between two commercial systems. Questions that matter before adoption include which system holds the authoritative record if the two disagree, what consent and audit controls apply to data moved through the connection, what security certification covers the transfer, and whether the feature is available now to every UK Nexus and intelliflo customer or is being phased in. None of this is addressed in the material FE fundinfo has published so far. Advisers and compliance staff at firms using either platform should raise these points directly with FE fundinfo or intelliflo rather than relying on the launch announcement.

What to watch

FE fundinfo has said further CRM integrations for Nexus for Financial Advisers are due by 31 December 2026, without naming the providers or confirming how many are planned. Readers with a direct interest in this update should look for the full survey methodology behind FE fundinfo's 95% and 192-hour figures, any confirmation from intelliflo of the Nexus Assistant connection's scope, and any independently measured evidence of time saved or client capacity released once firms have used the feature. The FCA's 23 April 2026 advice-market data remains the more reliable reference point for the state of UK adviser capacity.

Sources

  1. CashCalc (opens in a new tab)

    intelliflo · Accessed

  2. Nexus | FE fundinfo (opens in a new tab)

    FE fundinfo · Accessed

  3. Understanding the advice market: financial advice firms survey 2025 (opens in a new tab)

    Financial Conduct Authority · · Accessed

All Companies & Funding coverage