CMC Markets gives eligible UK CFD clients read-only ChatGPT access
CMC Markets has begun connecting supported UK CFD accounts to ChatGPT, letting eligible clients query balances, positions and prices, but trading and money movements stay switched off.
- Published

CMC Markets has begun giving clients with a supported UK contracts-for-difference (CFD) account access to ChatGPT, letting them ask the chatbot about their balances, positions and market prices in plain language. The company announced the integration in London on 24 September 2026. It is a read-only connection: ChatGPT can retrieve and summarise information, but it cannot place a trade, change an order or move money.
A CFD is a derivative. It lets a client take a position on whether an asset's price will rise or fall without owning the underlying asset itself. CFDs are traded on margin, meaning a client puts up only a fraction of the position's full value, which magnifies both gains and losses.
The launch matters because it puts a UK leveraged-trading provider's supported account and market data inside a general-purpose conversational AI interface, rather than a purpose-built trading app. That raises separate questions about what happens to the data once it leaves CMC's own platform, and about how much a client should trust an AI-generated answer on a leveraged position.
What clients can ask
CMC says the integration works with a supported CMC CFD account. Once connected, a client can ask ChatGPT for supported balances, account values, positions, orders, products, prices and historical market information. The company's own examples include summarising an account's balance and value, listing current positions or pending orders, finding gold markets, retrieving the latest available price for GBP/USD, and producing a daily candlestick chart of Apple's share price for the preceding three months.
CMC describes the answers as grounded in CMC account and market data. That is a description of where the information comes from, not a guarantee that every answer will be complete, current or free of error. The announcement does not publish a full list of which account fields, products or markets are covered, so "supported" should be read as a qualifier rather than a promise of comprehensive coverage.
What stays switched off
CMC is explicit about the boundary. ChatGPT cannot place, amend or cancel an order; open or close a position; move funds; or otherwise change the CMC account. Trading and other account activity remain separate from the chat interface. In practice, a client can ask the chatbot what their exposure looks like, but any decision to act on that information has to happen back in CMC's own trading platform.
That separation does not remove risk from the picture. A client could still read an AI-generated summary of their position and then go and trade on the strength of it, in CMC's platform, based on information that turns out to be wrong.
How a query works, and where to check it
CMC's examples show the connection can return the latest available price for a currency pair, alongside historical data such as a three-month candlestick series. The announcement does not state how fresh a price is at the moment ChatGPT displays it, whether a timestamp accompanies each figure, or what happens if the underlying market data feed is delayed or unavailable. For a leveraged position, the gap between a price shown in a chat window and the price available on CMC's own dealing screen can matter. Nothing in the current disclosure tells a client how to detect that gap, so checking a figure in CMC's own platform before relying on it is the only route the packet supports.
Privacy, permissions and the data trail
Connecting an account to any AI assistant means account information travels somewhere beyond the original platform. OpenAI's general documentation on connected apps in ChatGPT says an enabled app may receive relevant conversation or memory context, together with basic technical information such as IP address, browser or device type, language, region and approximate location. It also says information accessed through an app may be used as conversational context and, where a user is eligible, may affect memory or web search results.
For ChatGPT's Free, Plus, Go and Pro tiers, OpenAI's policy says information accessed from apps may be used to train its models where the user's "Improve the model for everyone" setting is switched on. CMC's announcement does not state whether the CMC connection carries any tighter, product-specific restriction on top of that general policy, so a UK client should not assume their account data is automatically excluded from model training without checking the setting and the terms shown at the point of connection.
OpenAI says a user can disconnect an app through ChatGPT's settings. Disconnecting stops new access, but OpenAI's documentation treats that as distinct from deleting conversations or saved memories that already exist. Which CMC-specific retention, deletion, data-residency and subprocessor arrangements apply to this integration has not been published in the material reviewed for this article.
Separately, where the information exchanged with ChatGPT constitutes personal data, the UK's data-protection accuracy principle, as explained by the Information Commissioner's Office, requires organisations to take reasonable steps to ensure that data is not incorrect or misleading, and to correct or delete it without undue delay where necessary. The ICO draws a distinction between that legal accuracy duty and the statistical accuracy of an AI model's output, which is a separate question.
Read-only is not the same as error-free
It is worth separating two different things CMC has said. "Read-only" describes what the connection is permitted to do to the account: nothing. It says nothing about whether the words ChatGPT generates when summarising a balance, calculating exposure or describing a position are themselves correct. OpenAI's own help material for financial-services use describes its tools as a research aid rather than financial or investment advice, and tells users to verify important information and review outputs before making decisions, on the basis that the system can make mistakes. CMC's announcement does not offer an accuracy guarantee either. A client who relies on a chat summary of their leveraged position without checking it in CMC's own platform is trusting an unverified output.
Why the stakes are high
CFDs are complex, leveraged products, and the FCA treats them as high-risk. Since 1 August 2019, the FCA's permanent restrictions on CFDs sold to UK retail clients have required:
| Retail protection | Requirement |
|---|---|
| Leverage limits | Capped between 30:1 and 2:1, depending on the underlying asset |
| Margin close-out | Positions closed when account funds fall to 50% of the margin needed to maintain them |
| Negative-balance protection | A retail client cannot lose more than the funds in their account |
| Inducements | Monetary and non-monetary inducements to trade are banned |
| Risk warning | Firms must publish a standardised, firm-specific warning of the proportion of retail accounts that lose money |
CMC's UK legal-documents page, as accessed on 27 September 2026, displayed a warning that 68% of retail investor accounts lose money when spread betting and/or trading CFDs with the provider. That figure is specific to CMC Markets UK plc and does not represent every provider or jurisdiction; the underlying 12-month calculation period was not shown in the captured page text.
The FCA said on 30 October 2025 that its retail CFD protections prevent an estimated near-400,000 people per year from risking more than their original stake, and provide an estimated £267m to £451m of protection across the market. Those figures describe the effect of the wider regulatory regime, not CMC specifically. Clients who elect professional status can give up these retail protections, including negative-balance protection.
What is not yet known
Several practical questions are not answered in CMC's announcement or in OpenAI's general documentation. It is not clear whether every eligible UK CFD account and every ChatGPT plan can use the connection, whether the roll-out is staged, or which authentication and permission controls apply if a client's ChatGPT account or device is compromised. It is also unclear which CMC legal entity acts as data controller for information passed to OpenAI, whether a data-protection impact assessment has been carried out, and whether disconnecting the app deletes previously retrieved account data from chats and memories or only stops future access.
CMC Markets UK plc, company number 02448409, has been an active UK public limited company since its incorporation on 1 December 1989, registered at 133 Houndsditch, London EC3A 7BX. Clients weighing up whether to connect an account can check CMC's own product terms and privacy notice for the specific permissions requested at the point of connection, and can consult the FCA's published rules on retail CFD protections for what applies regardless of which interface is used to view an account.
Sources
- CMC Markets connects client accounts and market data with ChatGPT (opens in a new tab)
CMC Markets plc · · Accessed
- CFD and OTC Options legal documents (opens in a new tab)
CMC Markets UK plc · Accessed
- Contract for differences (opens in a new tab)
Financial Conduct Authority · · Accessed
- PS19/18: Restricting contract for difference products sold to retail clients (opens in a new tab)
Financial Conduct Authority · · Accessed
- COBS 22: Restrictions on the distribution of certain complex investment products (opens in a new tab)
Financial Conduct Authority · Accessed
- FCA warns investors in CFDs risk losing out on protections (opens in a new tab)
Financial Conduct Authority · · Accessed
- Connected apps in ChatGPT (opens in a new tab)
OpenAI · Accessed
- ChatGPT for Financial Services (opens in a new tab)
OpenAI · Accessed
- What do we need to know about accuracy and statistical accuracy? (opens in a new tab)
Information Commissioner's Office · · Accessed
- CMC MARKETS UK PLC overview (opens in a new tab)
Companies House · Accessed


