CellPoint secures US$34m to build Zenith AI payments layer
London-based CellPoint Digital announced a US$34m investment from Toscafund to build Zenith, an AI layer for automating airline and hotel payment decisions, alongside plans for 50 roles worldwide.
- Published

CellPoint Digital, a London-based payments technology company, said on 22 September 2026 that it has secured a US$34m investment from Toscafund, managed by its private-equity affiliate Penta Capital. CellPoint says it intends to use the investment to build Zenith, an artificial-intelligence layer it says will automate payment-routing and other commercial decisions for airlines and hotels.
The announcement matters to UK fintech because it lands during a sharp slowdown in the sector's funding. KPMG reported that total UK fintech investment fell to £1.8bn across 205 deals in the first half of 2026, down from £5.0bn across 281 deals in the same period of 2025. Against that backdrop, a US$34m round for a London-registered payments specialist is a visible data point, though CellPoint has not said how much of the money, or how many of the 50 roles it plans to create, will actually sit in the UK.
CellPoint Digital Limited is an active private company incorporated in England on 10 June 2010, with company number 07280966 and a registered office at 25 Wilton Road, London SW1V 1LW, according to Companies House.
What Zenith is meant to do
Payment orchestration is the software layer that decides how a transaction is routed among banks, card networks and other payment providers, aiming to get it approved at the lowest cost. Airlines and hospitality businesses are CellPoint's stated customers for the product. Zenith is pitched as something that sits above that layer: an AI decisioning system that takes payment data and turns it into automated commercial decisions, such as which route a transaction should take.
CellPoint says Zenith can work above its own orchestrator or above a third party's, and that airlines and hotels can adopt it without replacing their existing payment stack. That integration claim comes from the company's own announcement. No technical documentation, implementation case study or independent customer confirmation was available to verify it.
What CellPoint has shown, and what it has not
CellPoint's chief executive, Kevin Murphy, said Zenith can raise payment approval rates, cut payment costs, recover lost revenue and give finance teams a live view of payment performance. These are the kinds of claims that matter to an airline or hotel group weighing whether to adopt the product, because approval rates and payment costs affect revenue directly.
None of these claims comes with a quantified uplift, a stated baseline, a sample size, a named customer, an independent test or a defined measurement period. The announcement does not identify a single airline or hotel using Zenith in production, nor does it distinguish whether the product is generally available, in pilot deployment, or still under development. Readers should treat the performance claims as CellPoint's own description of what it intends Zenith to do, not as demonstrated results.
Where the money and the roles are going
CellPoint says the investment will fund 50 planned roles across product, data, AI, sales and partnerships. The company describes these as spread across Europe, the Americas and Asia. It has not disclosed how many will be based in the UK, when hiring will start, or whether all 50 are incremental full-time positions. A reader should not infer from this figure that CellPoint is creating 50 UK jobs; the company's own wording spreads the roles across three world regions without a UK breakdown.
Alongside the funding, CellPoint presented Kevin Murphy as group chief executive and Michael Kelly as chairman, and named Patrick Uckermark as chief product and technology officer with responsibility for the AI and data roadmap. Companies House records show that Murphy and Kelly became directors of CellPoint Digital Holdings Limited on 19 December 2025, roughly nine months before the public announcement. Companies House establishes only that their legal directorships began on that date; the start dates of the group chief executive and chairman titles themselves were not established in the reviewed evidence.
A funding history stretching back to 2019
Penta Capital says it first made a growth-capital equity investment in CellPoint in April 2019. Since then the company has announced three further rounds involving Toscafund and Penta Capital.
| Date | Amount | Detail |
|---|---|---|
| April 2019 | Not disclosed | Penta Capital's first growth-capital investment in CellPoint |
| 5 January 2022 | US$25m | CellPoint said cumulative Toscafund and Penta investment then exceeded US$56m |
| 25 November 2024 | US$30m | Funding round from Toscafund and Penta Capital |
| 22 September 2026 | US$34m | Investment from Toscafund, managed by Penta Capital, to fund Zenith and 50 roles |
CellPoint's 2026 announcement does not state whether the US$34m is equity, debt, convertible capital or another instrument, and it does not say whether the transaction had fully closed as of 22 September 2026. A secondary report from Dealroom.co described the round as late-stage venture funding, while CellPoint's own release calls it only an "investment." Neither the financing structure nor the completion status could be confirmed from the available evidence, and the structure of the 2026 investment should not be inferred from CellPoint's earlier financing rounds.
What it signals for UK specialist financial AI
One funding round does not establish a market trend on its own, but it sits alongside broader figures on AI-related investment in UK fintech. KPMG reported £445m of AI-related UK fintech investment across 79 deals in the first half of 2026, equal to 25% of total UK fintech investment for the period, up from £382m and 16% of total investment in the same period a year earlier. KPMG cautions that its technology categories are not mutually exclusive, so these figures should be read as directional rather than exact.
Separately, a government-commissioned study for the Department for Science, Innovation and Technology estimated that the UK's wider AI sector comprised 5,862 companies and 86,139 AI-related jobs in 2024, generating £23.9bn in revenue and £11.8bn in gross value added. That study covers AI activity across the whole economy, not financial services specifically, so it should not be read as a measure of financial AI alone.
The Financial Conduct Authority's Innovation insights 2025 report recorded US$15bn in disclosed UK fintech investment across 445 deals during 2025, using a targeted, equity-focused definition that excludes debt financing from its core analysis. Because KPMG and the FCA use different definitions, currencies and time periods, their figures should not be compared directly with each other or treated as measuring the same thing.
Together, the data point to continued investor appetite for AI-enabled fintech even as overall UK fintech deal volumes have fallen. CellPoint's round is one example of that pattern in the payments space, rather than proof of a broader shift on its own.
Risk and regulatory context
Zenith is enterprise payments infrastructure designed for airlines and hotels, not a consumer credit or investment product, and nothing in CellPoint's announcement claims FCA authorisation, Financial Services Compensation Scheme protection or Financial Ombudsman Service jurisdiction for the product or the company. This article makes no claim about CellPoint's regulatory status, and readers should not infer one from the funding announcement.
What to watch next
Investors, customers and competitors will want to see several things CellPoint has not yet published: any transaction filing or investor confirmation of the US$34m round's structure and closing; a breakdown of how many of the 50 planned roles land in the UK and on what timetable; a named airline or hotel customer using Zenith in production; and a quantified, independently verifiable measure of the approval-rate, cost or revenue effects CellPoint has described. Companies House filing history for CellPoint Digital Holdings Limited, where accounts for the year to 31 December 2025 had not yet appeared as of the research date, may in time shed light on the financing and corporate structure behind the round, though not on UK hiring, named customers or performance results, which would need to come from CellPoint or independent verification. KPMG's next half-year fintech update will show whether AI-related investment continues to take a larger share of a shrinking UK fintech market.
Sources
- CELLPOINT DIGITAL LIMITED overview (opens in a new tab)
Companies House · Accessed
- CELLPOINT DIGITAL HOLDINGS LIMITED filing history (opens in a new tab)
Companies House · Accessed
- CellPoint Digital (opens in a new tab)
Penta Capital · Accessed
- CellPoint Digital secures $25 million investment (opens in a new tab)
CellPoint Digital · · Accessed
- CellPoint Digital raises $34M to build AI payments layer for airlines (opens in a new tab)
Dealroom.co Ecosystem UK · · Accessed
- Pulse of Fintech – UK perspective (opens in a new tab)
KPMG UK · Accessed
- Artificial Intelligence sector study 2024 (opens in a new tab)
Department for Science, Innovation and Technology · · Accessed
- Innovation insights 2025 (opens in a new tab)
Financial Conduct Authority · · Accessed