Skip to content
Fintech for Business

Unity Trust Bank deposits top £2bn as pre-tax profit falls

Unity Trust Bank's customer deposits passed £2bn and new lending rose 7% to £155.7m in the first half of 2026, but pre-tax profit fell to £22.8m from £28.6m, with no public breakdown of the cause.

By FinTechPulse Editorial

Published
An oversized bank night-safe overflowing with envelopes, with a row of small drawers underneath it all padlocked shut.

Unity Trust Bank plc has reported that customer deposits passed £2bn for the first time, alongside a record customer base of more than 11,800 and £155.7m of new lending, in the six months to 30 June 2026. Pre-tax profit for the same half fell to £22.8m, down from £28.6m a year earlier.

The half-year announcement, published on 4 August 2026, covers a bank whose customers include charities, housing associations, local councils, responsible-finance providers, healthcare and education organisations, trade unions and other socially minded businesses. Unity says it only lends to, or provides banking services for, organisations delivering positive social or environmental outcomes, and its standard loans run from £250,000 to £40m, subject to credit assessment.

The figures matter to anyone running or advising a UK charity, social enterprise, housing provider or public body that relies on Unity's focus on organisations delivering positive social or environmental outcomes: they show a bank that continues to attract deposits and lending demand, but they also show profitability falling by close to a fifth, without a quantified public explanation of why.

What the financial figures show

Unity's deposits stood at £1.9bn at 31 December 2025, itself 8% higher than the year before. By 30 June 2026 that figure had passed £2bn, though the announcement does not disclose the exact half-year balance. New lending in the first half of 2026 reached £155.7m, 7% ahead of the equivalent period in 2025, when Unity reported "over £140m" of funding — figures that are compatible with each other but not directly comparable to the decimal point.

Pre-tax profit tells a different story. It fell from £28.6m in the first half of 2025 to £22.8m in the first half of 2026, a drop of £5.8m, or approximately 20.3%. That follows a fall across the whole of 2025 too, when full-year pre-tax profit was £52.4m against £65.8m in 2024, even as full-year lending and deposits both grew.

MeasureH1 2025H1 2026Change
Customer deposits£1.813bn (context)more than £2bnpassed £2bn threshold
Customersmore than 10,900more than 11,800record high
New lendingover £140m£155.7mup 7%
Pre-tax profit£28.6m£22.8mdown £5.8m (≈20.3%)

Unity's own explanation for the profit decline is general rather than itemised. The release points to an uncertain economic environment and to strategic investment in infrastructure and customer service, but it supplies no quantified breakdown — no figures for net interest margin, operating costs, impairments or one-off items. Readers cannot tell from the public announcement how much of the £5.8m fall came from each of those factors, and no full 2026 interim financial statements or audit review has been located to fill the gap.

Who Unity serves, and what the results don't say

Unity's eligibility criteria, dated 23 May 2026, list the sectors it serves: charities, education and healthcare organisations, housing associations, local councils, responsible-finance providers, trade unions and other socially minded organisations. The bank says deposits from these customers fund its lending activity.

What the half-year release does not do is break either deposits or new lending down by customer type. There is no disclosure of how much of the £155.7m went to housing providers as against charities, or to local authorities as against responsible-finance providers. A reader cannot tell from the public figures which part of Unity's customer base drove the growth, or whether growth was concentrated in one sector rather than spread across several.

What can reasonably be inferred about demand

The growth in deposits, customer numbers and new lending is evidence that Unity's own business continued to attract activity from purpose-led organisations during the first half of 2026. That is a fair reading of the figures as reported.

It is a different claim to say that demand for ethical business banking rose across the UK market as a whole. Unity's results contain no market-share data, no sector-wide deposit statistics and no competitor comparison. They describe one bank's performance. Without independent market evidence, the results support a conclusion about Unity, not about the wider UK ethical-banking sector.

Reported social impact, kept separate from the financial results

Alongside its financial figures, Unity reported several impact measures for January to June 2026. It said 64% of loans in the period were distributed to disadvantaged communities, though the announcement does not state whether that percentage is calculated by loan value, by number of loans, or on some other basis, nor does it define "disadvantaged" or name the deprivation index used. The equivalent figure Unity reported for the first half of 2025 was 59%.

Unity also said almost half of its first-half 2026 financing met the "Contribute to Solutions" classification under the Impact Frontiers ABC of Enterprise Impact framework — a classification, as Impact Frontiers describes it, for activity intended to improve a previously negative social or environmental outcome. That is a stated intention, not an audited measure of outcomes actually achieved, and Unity did not publish an exact percentage or loan-level assessment.

The bank reported that its January-to-June 2026 funding helped support 4,784 homes, 646 care beds, 235 day-care spaces, 3,263 jobs and more than 2.5m prescriptions, and that just under £14m provided to seven Community Development Finance Institutions helped more than 150 small businesses. These are company-reported figures. The release does not disclose the calculation methods behind them, whether "jobs" means created, protected, or both, whether "homes" means built, financed, improved or otherwise supported, or whether any of the figures have been independently assured. They should be read as Unity's own account of its activity, not as verified financial-statement measures.

Regulatory status and depositor protection

Unity Trust Bank plc is authorised by the Prudential Regulation Authority (PRA) and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) and the PRA, entered on the Financial Services Register under number 204570. The Financial Conduct Authority has separately published a warning identifying a cloned website using a similar domain name and confirming Unity's genuine reference number.

Passing £2bn in deposits does not mean the full balance carries deposit protection. Unity's own published information states that eligible savings may be protected by the Financial Services Compensation Scheme up to a total of £120,000 per eligible person per authorised firm, as at 22 September 2026. Eligibility depends on the type of depositor and the organisational form involved, and Unity directs customers to the official scheme for further detail. Growth in aggregate deposits, in other words, increases the funding available to the bank; it does not by itself increase the proportion of those deposits that is covered.

What to watch next

Unity's public half-year announcement leaves several questions open: the exact deposit balance at 30 June 2026, the sector split behind the £155.7m of new lending, a quantified explanation for the fall in pre-tax profit, and the methodology behind its reported impact figures. Readers who want that detail should look to Unity's eventual 2026 annual report and any further interim financial disclosure, where fuller balance-sheet data, cost and margin breakdowns, credit-quality information and impact-measurement methodology would typically appear.

Sources

  1. Understanding our eligibility criteria (opens in a new tab)

    Unity Trust Bank · Accessed

  2. ABC of Enterprise Impact (opens in a new tab)

    Impact Frontiers · Accessed

  3. Legal and regulatory information (opens in a new tab)

    Unity Trust Bank · Accessed

  4. unity-trust.co.uk (Clone of FCA Authorised Firm) (opens in a new tab)

    Financial Conduct Authority · Accessed

  5. Financial Services Compensation Scheme (opens in a new tab)

    Unity Trust Bank · Accessed