Ex-Monzo founders raise funding for payroll savings firm Sync
Sync Savings, founded by ex-Monzo staff, has raised an undisclosed funding round to expand payroll-linked saving via IRIS Staffology and NHS-linked employers, though key figures remain company-supplied.
By FinTechPulse Editorial
- Published

Sync Savings, a Cardiff-headquartered payroll-savings company founded by former Monzo staff, has completed a new funding round, FinTech Wales reported on 21 September 2026. The company has not disclosed the amount raised, the valuation, the funding stage or any equity terms. The named backers are Sarah Williams-Gardener OBE, Angels Invest Wales, Rupa Popat and Fiona Howarth.
Sync builds infrastructure that lets an employee direct part of their pay into a savings account automatically, before the money reaches their current account. Sync and IRIS Software Group announced an integration with IRIS's Staffology payroll platform on 16 June 2026, and Sync says it is used by several NHS-linked primary care employers. The company also says its deposits and user numbers have grown sharply over the past six months, though it has not published the underlying figures behind those growth rates.
The round matters for two reasons beyond Sync itself. First, it is a live test of whether automated payroll-linked saving can move the needle on UK household resilience — a question distinct from whether any given Sync deployment is opt-in or opt-out, which is not established from the sources reviewed — an area where the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) and HM Treasury have both published evidence. Second, it illustrates how much of Sync's own pitch on adoption and growth rests on figures the company supplies itself: its deposit and user growth rates lack disclosed absolute values, a stated methodology, or independent verification.
The funding round
FinTech Wales's report, published on 21 September 2026, named the four investors above but gave no figure for the amount raised. A separate funding database, Tech.eu, records the same round with a transaction date of 18 September 2026 and also lists the amount as undisclosed. Neither source states the funding stage, and the precise legal completion date is not established from the available sources.
This is not Sync's first fundraising. FinTech Futures reported an earlier, also undisclosed, pre-seed round on 23 August 2023, shortly after the company was founded. The 2026 round should therefore be read as a follow-on raise, not Sync's first outside capital.
Who is behind Sync
Companies House records Sync Savings Limited, company number 14782182, as an active company incorporated on 5 April 2023, with its registered office at 33–35 West Bute Street, Cardiff, Wales, CF10 5LH, as of 22 September 2026. Companies House does not verify the accuracy of information filed with it.
Sync's own website names three co-founders: Joss Tasker as chief executive, Alex Fox as chief operating officer, and Sam Rogers as chief technology officer. FinTech Futures reported in 2023 that Tasker was formerly a compliance director at Monzo and Fox a business-banking operations product partner at the same bank, and described the pair as the company's founders without mentioning Rogers. FinTech Wales's 2026 report also refers only to Tasker and Fox as founders. It is not established from the available sources whether Rogers joined after incorporation or was omitted from earlier coverage for other reasons.
How the product works
According to Sync, payroll instructions are passed to the employer's payroll operator each pay cycle, payroll is run with adjusted net pay, and funds are transferred directly to partner banks rather than sitting with Sync itself. The company says employees can change their contribution level or access their savings.
That last point is a compliance detail readers should hold onto: Sync is the technology layer, not, on the evidence available, the deposit-taking bank. The company's partner page says customer funds go to partner banks and describes the accounts as protected by the Financial Services Compensation Scheme (FSCS). FSCS protection applies to eligible deposits held with an authorised deposit taker, up to the current statutory limit per eligible person, per authorised banking group — it does not extend to Sync as a technology provider. Which regulated institution legally holds a given employee's savings, at what interest rate, and how the FSCS limit would apply if a saver holds other deposits with the same banking group, is not established from the material reviewed for this article.
Sync and IRIS announced on 16 June 2026 that Sync's payroll-saving flow would be integrated into IRIS's Staffology payroll product. The announcement said employees begin from a link inside their payslip experience, with sign-up details pre-filled. The announcement frames the integration as reaching millions of UK employees, but this describes the potential size of IRIS's payroll base rather than a disclosed number of employers or employees who have actually activated Sync through it, and it is not established from the sources reviewed whether the integration is yet operational for any employer.
Distribution: IRIS, and a narrower NHS picture than it sounds
FinTech Wales's report describes Sync as expanding "through employers and providers including IRIS Software Group and the NHS." The IRIS relationship is documented in the companies' own June 2026 announcement. The NHS reference is broader than the evidence supports: Sync's website carries testimonials from CYGNET Primary Care Network, Bartholomew Medical Group and Yorkshire Health Partners, all NHS-linked primary care employers. No NHS-wide contract or central NHS procurement arrangement was found in the sources reviewed. Readers should treat "Sync and the NHS" as a description of a handful of named local employers, not a national NHS partnership.
The growth figures, and why they need a caveat
FinTech Wales reported that, over the six months preceding 21 September 2026, Sync's deposits grew by an average 75% month on month and its user numbers by 60% month on month. These figures come from the company, not from an independent audit. No absolute starting or ending values were disclosed, so a reader cannot tell whether the percentages describe a jump from a small base or a much larger one, nor is it clear whether "average month-on-month" means a simple average of monthly percentage changes or a compounded rate. Growth rates of this kind should be read as a company's characterisation of its own trajectory rather than a verified measure of scale.
Can automatic payroll saving actually improve resilience?
The case for payroll-linked saving rests on a real gap. The FCA's 2024 Financial Lives Survey found that one in ten people had no cash savings at all, and a further one in five had less than £1,000 available for an emergency. The FCA also cited Department for Work and Pensions evidence that only 7% of UK employers offer a workplace savings scheme, which is the structural problem payroll-savings providers like Sync are pitching themselves to solve.
Government-backed trials give some support to the idea that automated, opt-out saving increases participation and persistence compared with schemes people must actively join. HM Treasury's Financial Inclusion Strategy reported the following results from employer trials:
| Scheme | Participation | Average monthly contribution | Average balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| SUEZ UK (opt-out, new joiners) | 48% of new joiners | £40 a month | — |
| Bupa and Co-op (opt-out trials, pooled) | 69% of eligible Bupa employees; 67% of eligible Co-op employees, both by month four | — | £96 after four months; £170 after eight months |
Separately, Nest Insight's research on an opt-out sidecar savings trial run with SUEZ UK and Transave UK found, as of 30 June 2022, no observed increase in workplace-pension opt-out rates — an early finding the researchers said they would continue to monitor, not a settled conclusion that payroll saving never affects pension participation elsewhere.
The FCA set out the regulatory boundary for this model in a statement dated 27 August 2025. It said opt-in workplace savings, where the employee actively elects to join, can already operate within the existing UK regulatory and legislative framework. Scaling up opt-out saving, where employees are enrolled automatically and must choose to leave, was a different matter: the FCA said wider opt-out adoption was likely to require action by public authorities, potentially including legislative change. That is a meaningful qualifier for any provider, including Sync, that markets automatic enrolment of every employee — the exact consent mechanism Sync uses at each employer, and whether it operates on an opt-in or opt-out basis, is not established from the sources reviewed.
Nest Insight's research also flags the limit of what payroll saving can achieve on its own. Some employees in its trials used the mechanism for budgeting or cash-flow smoothing rather than building a buffer, because low income or cost-of-living pressure left them with nothing spare to accumulate. Automating the mechanics of saving does not create disposable income that is not otherwise there.
What this means for a Sync user
None of this makes payroll saving free of risk. Money deducted from pay before it reaches a current account is still the employee's money, and reduced take-home pay can affect a household's ability to meet immediate costs, particularly for anyone already close to the margin the FCA describes. Anyone considering a workplace scheme should establish, before joining, which regulated bank actually holds the funds, what protection applies under the FSCS and its current limit, what interest is paid, and how quickly money can be withdrawn — none of which is established for Sync specifically from the material reviewed here.
What to watch next
Sync has not disclosed the value of its 2026 round, its active user or deposit totals, or the identity of the regulated bank holding customer funds. The FCA's statement on workplace savings schemes, published 27 August 2025, and HM Treasury's Financial Inclusion Strategy set out the official evidence base for payroll saving in the UK and are the primary places to check for any regulatory or legislative change to opt-out schemes. Readers who want the current legal position on a specific employer's scheme should approach the employer or the FCA directly rather than relying on marketing claims from any single provider.
Sources
- Ex-Monzo Execs’ Sync Savings Secures Funding and Establishes Welsh HQ (opens in a new tab)
FinTech Wales · · Accessed
- Sync Savings — funding rounds & investors (opens in a new tab)
Tech.eu Funding Explorer · Accessed
- SYNC SAVINGS LIMITED overview (opens in a new tab)
Companies House · Accessed
- Former Monzo execs launch new fintech start-up Sync Savings (opens in a new tab)
FinTech Futures · · Accessed
- About Sync | Building the future of workplace savings (opens in a new tab)
Sync Savings · Accessed
- Payroll Savings made simple (opens in a new tab)
Sync Savings · Accessed
- Add Payroll Savings to your platform | Sync for partners (opens in a new tab)
Sync Savings · Accessed
- Statement on workplace savings schemes (opens in a new tab)
Financial Conduct Authority · · Accessed
- Financial Inclusion Strategy (opens in a new tab)
HM Treasury · Accessed
- Workplace sidecar saving in action (opens in a new tab)
Nest Insight · Accessed


