Ant International's AI suite raises UK oversight questions
Ant International says it has launched nearly 100 AI tools for payments and treasury. Its adoption and performance figures are company-reported, and UK availability through its FCA-authorised WorldFirst entity is unconfirmed.
By FinTechPulse Editorial
- Published

Ant International, the international arm of Chinese fintech group Ant Group, used its VOYAGE merchant event in Shanghai on 18 September 2026 to announce what it describes as close to 100 AI-based products spanning payments, business accounts, foreign exchange, treasury and merchant growth. The suite sits across four business pillars: Alipay+, Antom, WorldFirst and Bettr.
For UK readers, the direct link is narrower than the scale of the announcement suggests. Ant International's WorldFirst brand operates in Britain through World First UK Limited, a company incorporated in England and Wales (company number 05022388) and authorised by the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) as an electronic money institution under the Electronic Money Regulations 2011, firm reference number 900508. That authorisation is real. It does not establish that every product unveiled in Shanghai is offered by the UK entity, approved by the FCA, or available to UK customers.
Why it matters now: the announcement pushes further into agentic finance — AI systems that don't just analyse data but can initiate or manage payments, hedges and account movements with limited human involvement. That raises practical questions for any UK firm or merchant using, or considering, this kind of tool: who is accountable when an autonomous system acts, what happens to the data it processes, and how far a provider's own performance claims can be relied on without independent verification.
What Ant International has actually unveiled
The stack rests on two named models. The Antom 3-in-1 Transformer is described by the company as having more than 10 billion parameters and processing "90T of data" annually — Ant International does not specify what unit that figure measures, so it cannot be independently checked. FalconTST, used for foreign-exchange and cash-flow forecasting, is described as having more than 8.5 billion parameters.
Antom Autopilot is presented as a conversational interface covering onboarding, integration, payment orchestration, risk protection, revenue recovery, troubleshooting, financial analysis, reconciliation and market expansion. WorldFirst for Enterprise Treasury Autopilot bundles five tools: World Map, a cash-position dashboard the company says refreshes every 30 minutes; Falcon Forecast; Falcon FX; Whale Pooling, for which Ant International claims a same-day settlement rate above 98%; and World Payout.
Crucially, the company itself distinguishes between different levels of automation rather than presenting the whole suite as uniformly autonomous. Falcon Smart Hedging is described as recommending strategies, implying a human still decides. WorldFirst's compliance and eKYC/KYB checks are described as supervised workflows. Antom AutoDispute is described as fully automated. Whale Pooling, the company says, "can determine movements within customer-defined policies and controls" — but the announcement does not disclose what approval thresholds or provider-set safeguards, if any, apply beyond those customer-defined limits.
Separately, Ant International says it launched the Alipay+ Agentic Mobile Protocol in April 2026, with a first phase supporting ten wallet partners and seven acquirers. It also describes its wider network — 53 digital wallets, 10 national QR schemes, 150 million merchants and more than 2 billion consumer accounts across 210 markets — as of the announcement. These figures are company-reported, not independently audited.
Claims versus evidence
Several headline results are striking, but the methodology is unpublished; none of the figures below has a disclosed audit, sample size, benchmark or third-party evaluation attached.
| Company claim | Figure | What's missing |
|---|---|---|
| Antom merchants deploying AI agents | 89.5% | No denominator, sample definition or geographic breakdown |
| Payment tasks aided by AI | 81.4% | No definition of "task" or evaluation method |
| FalconTST forecast accuracy | more than 93% | No named metric, forecast horizon, currency pairs or benchmark |
| FX hedging and allocation cost reduction | 30% to 60% | No client identities, sample size or comparison basis |
| Chargeback rate reduction (leading LLM clients) | up to 87% | A maximum, not an average; no baseline, client count or period |
| Antom SmartDispute success rate | 24.5% rising to 41.8% | No sample size, evaluation period, merchant mix or control group |
| WhaleRTP 2025 results | 45% of cross-border volume; 60% cut in working-capital needs; 23% rise in interest income | Concerns Ant International's own operations, not external clients; no transaction values disclosed |
These are Ant International's own reported results, not independently established facts; the company's "industry first" claims are competitive positioning rather than verified market comparisons.
The UK connection is real, but its scope is unclear
World First UK Limited's FCA authorisation does not confirm which, if any, of the newly announced products will be offered in the UK, through which contracting entity, or on what timetable — the global announcement provides no UK product list, launch schedule or mapping to regulatory permissions. Anyone considering these tools should confirm directly with the provider and check the FCA Register before assuming a specific product is regulated, UK-available, or covered by WorldFirst's existing permissions.
From software assistant to delegated authority
The central question for UK firms is not whether AI can help with payments — plenty already does — but how much authority it is given to act without a person checking first. Ant International's own product descriptions show this varies by tool: some advise, some operate only within limits the customer sets, and at least one (AutoDispute) is described as fully automated.
UK data illustrates the gap between marketing language and measured autonomy: in the Bank of England and FCA's 2024 survey of 118 regulated firms, 55% of reported AI use cases involved some automated decision-making, but only 2% involved fully autonomous decisions with no human step. That is a different population, date and definition from Ant International's claimed 89.5% merchant "deployment" of AI agents, so the figures are not directly comparable — but the contrast shows why terms like "AI agent," "deployment" and "autonomous" need clear definitions before a firm can assess what it is adopting.
Ant International also describes Antom AgentSafePay as offering a "100% fund guarantee" for specified agent-related losses, but does not disclose the policy wording, limits, exclusions, eligible jurisdictions, claims process or which entity stands behind it. This should not be treated as equivalent to a statutory protection such as the Financial Services Compensation Scheme, a separate UK arrangement with its own eligibility rules.
Data and models: what isn't disclosed
Where these tools process personal data, UK GDPR applies, including additional conditions and safeguards for solely automated decisions that have legal or similarly significant effects on an individual, as set out by the Information Commissioner's Office (ICO). Whether a given treasury or payment action meets that threshold depends on the use case and how much genuine human involvement is built in. The ICO's material on agentic AI also flags data-minimisation as a live concern for organisations deploying this kind of system.
Ant International's announcement does not disclose the data sources, lawful bases, retention periods, or international-transfer arrangements behind its models, nor does it explain the controller and processor roles that would apply to a UK customer's data. Firms considering these tools would need that detail before they could assess their own UK GDPR obligations.
Third-party and operational risk
The Bank of England and FCA's 2024 survey offers UK-specific context on how firms handle AI risk generally, though it predates this announcement. One third of the AI use cases reported were third-party implementations, up from 17% in 2022, and the three most frequently named providers accounted for 73% of cloud providers, 44% of model providers and 33% of data providers among respondents — raising its own concentration risk where a single provider's tools span payments, FX and treasury simultaneously, as Ant International's does. The same survey found 46% of firms reported only partial understanding of the AI technologies they used or planned to use, against 34% reporting complete understanding, with the gap concentrated in third-party models. And while 84% of firms using AI reported a named accountable person for their AI framework, that accountability was often split across three or more people or bodies — a name on paper does not automatically mean effective control over any single automated workflow.
Under UK rules, a regulated firm remains responsible for managing risks from outsourced and third-party arrangements; this does not change because a provider is large or well known. The UK's critical third-party regime, which took effect on 1 January 2025, gives regulators oversight of a small number of providers' designated systemic services, but that oversight complements rather than replaces a firm's own responsibility for third-party risk, according to the FCA. Separately, the FCA has said more than 40% of cyber incidents reported to it during 2025 involved a third party. New FCA rules on operational-incident reporting and material third-party reporting were published on 18 March 2026 and take effect on 18 March 2027 for firms within scope; the two regimes have different scopes, and it is material third-party reporting that covers, among others, authorised payment institutions and authorised electronic money institutions.
The regulatory gap still being worked through
The UK does not have a single statute governing AI in financial services. Instead, existing requirements on conduct, operational resilience, outsourcing, senior management responsibility and data protection apply according to the use case, under a principles-based, outcomes-focused approach. HM Treasury's Financial Services AI Adoption Plan, published on 14 July 2026, recommends that the UK develop a trust framework specifically for agentic payments, covering legal and liability rules, know-your-agent protocols, and interoperable authentication and governance standards. These are recommendations that government has welcomed, not rules currently in force.
What to watch next
The gaps here are specific and checkable in principle: a dated UK product list naming the contracting entity, published AgentSafePay terms, and disclosed methodology behind the adoption and performance figures would resolve most of the open questions. In the meantime, firms and merchants evaluating these or comparable tools can check a provider's status on the FCA Register, review the Bank of England and FCA's AI survey material for context, and follow HM Treasury's and the FCA's work on third-party reporting ahead of the 18 March 2027 deadline and any resulting agentic-payments trust framework.
Sources
- Terms and Conditions (opens in a new tab)
WorldFirst UK · Accessed
- Artificial intelligence in UK financial services - 2024 (opens in a new tab)
Bank of England and Financial Conduct Authority · · Accessed
- Critical Third Parties: Strengthening UK Financial Services (opens in a new tab)
Financial Conduct Authority · · Accessed
- Outsourcing and operational resilience (opens in a new tab)
Financial Conduct Authority · Accessed
- PS26/2: Operational incident and third party reporting (opens in a new tab)
Financial Conduct Authority · · Accessed
- FCA confirms new incident and third party rules to bolster resilience (opens in a new tab)
Financial Conduct Authority · · Accessed
- Rights related to automated decision making including profiling (opens in a new tab)
Information Commissioner's Office · Accessed
- Data protection and privacy risks (opens in a new tab)
Information Commissioner's Office · Accessed
- Financial Services AI Adoption Plan (opens in a new tab)
HM Treasury · · Accessed